Who needs fashion when you have AP style?

16 Mar

Officials are still debating the health benefits of cereal commas.

(What’s a serial comma?) 

(What’s AP style?) 

6 Responses to “Who needs fashion when you have AP style?”

  1. Emily March 16, 2007 at 10:09 am #

    Lia. This entry proves once and for all that all Northwestern students really are that nerdy. Don’t worry, it’s not just you. I’m nerdy for understanding. And laughing at it. *sigh*

  2. Nathan March 18, 2007 at 5:37 am #

    I’ve always been a huge fan of the Oxford comma, as it was called when I learned it, for many reasons. I’ve often found myself reading a confusing, long, or conjunction-filled list with much confusion caused by lack of an Oxford comma.

    Yet my 12th grade teacher was unconvinced, and she was the first English teacher I had had that did not make use of my friend from a major university in southeast England. In fact, she continually edited it out of my papers. This continued until I brought proof (namely, example sentences), my MLA handbook, and the opinions of other English teachers in the school. Now, I believe she too uses the helpful punctuation mark.

  3. Benj March 29, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    Wow, I didn’t know that was called a serial comma or an Oxford comma. I didn’t know it had any name, actually. I normally use it. Fascinating Wikipedia article, though.

  4. Karen May 6, 2007 at 2:41 pm #

    did you make that pic?

    that is briLIAnt! seriously…VERY clever

    and approved by the orthodox union apparently =)

  5. textdoctor July 12, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    I love the cereal box so much that I’d like to use it in a slide show on style guides. I would cite you and provide a citation to your blog. Thank you.

    Elizabeth Frick
    efrick@textdoctor.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Serial commas: Do you, or don’t you? - September 20, 2011

    […] (Image via) […]

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

