Renaissance artists and childhood TV shows

In Euro, we keep mentioning some famous artists of the Renaissance: Michaelangelo, Donatello, Raphael, and Leonardo. Whenever I hear their names, I can’t help but think of a favorite childhood TV show…Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!

Thinking about the Turtles gave me a nice mental break from the video we were watching about Machiavelli.

I want to meet the guy who came up with the idea for that TV show. “Let’s make a TV show cartoon about turtles. Wait, that’s boring. I’ll add a twist. They’ll be…NINJA turtles! But I don’t know…ninja turtles is a little unrealistic. I mean, turtles don’t just become ninja turtles naturally…they are mutants! The show won’t be entertaining though if it’s about adults–adults are too old, and the ninja weapons are probably slightly dangerous for small children. They’ll be…teenagers. Eureka! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!”

The show was really cool. I was never a huge fan, but my brother watched it all the time. The turtles were really funny, really ’80s: “Dude!” “Radical!” And I looked in every toy store in the universe for the April figurine, but they only had the turtles and the bad guy (Shredder?).

Yeah, I don’t really know much now about Machiavelli.

4 thoughts on “Renaissance artists and childhood TV shows

  1. And I thought I was the only person who questioned the name of teenage mutant ninja turtles! It seems like other people just don’t register how WEIRD of a title that is. Or do they just assume that since it’s a show, there actually ARE teenage mutant ninja turtles living in a zoo enclosure somewhere? That would be quite interesting, actually. Anyway Lia, I can’t help but notice that your friend Dan has quite a lot to say. To him I say, is Northwestern not challenging enough that you have so much time to write in Lia’s LJ? And if that’s the case, why didn’t you just go to one of those higher-ranked schools? I’m just kidding. But why would you want to go to a school so close to home?????????????????
    -S

  2. Who are you? (Not “who are you” as in “who are you trying to be,” but “who are you” as in “I don’t know what S stands for.”)

  3. Just read (some of) West Word. Good job, Lia. I liked your column and the article on blogging. And Rukin has retained his status as worst editorials writer ever.

What do you think?

