To Northwestern or not to Northwestern

Should I apply to Northwestern? I need to decide ASAP.

Reasons to apply:
-Great school
-I have a fair chance of getting in solely based on legacy
-Though I don’t want to go there now, I might want to go there later.

Reasons not to apply:
-I don’t want to go there!
-It’s too close to home
-It’s too familiar to me
-My brother goes there (so did my dad and grandmother), so it’s nothing new
-I can name all the buildings and I know my way around the campus already
-The application is the most annoying thing ever and I won’t be able to recycle any essays for it
-I don’t want to be in Medill journalism (too rigorous), but if I’m not then I won’t be able to work on the paper.
-I sort of don’t want to know if I would have gotten in or not. If I did get in, I’d feel obligated to go there since it’s such a great school. If I didn’t get in, I’d get made fun of (maybe not to my face)
-I might ruin the chances for all my friends getting in who actually do want to go there

Please vote here ASAP. Leave reasons if you can.

12 thoughts on “To Northwestern or not to Northwestern

  1. It seems to me like you don’t want to go but you feel like you have to cause your family expects it. You even say you don’t want to go, but you give yourself a little leeway (is that how that word is spelled?) by saying that maybe you’ll change your mind, but if you still don’t like it now, then chances are you won’t later. Good luck! I hope I helped a little.

    Virginia

  2. It seems that you have already decided. Don’t apply, it seems liek you think it would only be a waste of time. You can find the things you need at other schools that you feel more confident about.

    Hope this helps,
    Fray

  3. Don’t apply. Unless you actaully want to go there and could see yourself spending the next four years there, don’t apply. It’s not worth the time and/or effort you will have to put into it. Plus, think of all the time you could put into USY if you didn’t apply to Northwestern! I think it is obvious who wrote this!

    -A friend from far away

  4. Don’t bother…………I’m doing the application now, and its ridiculous. if you don’t really want to go there, dont bother killing yourself over the application. There are tons of other good schools………go waste your time on some of those apps!

    –benji

  5. 3 pros, 9 cons, seems like you don’t wanna go, so don’t apply–especially with their more intense application process.

  6. 3 pros, 9 cons, seems like you don’t wanna go, so don’t apply–especially with their more intense application process. From what I’ve heard, most people don’t grow into their college. If they’re going to like it they usually like it before they get there.

    ttyl,
    –reuben

  7. oops, sorry for posting twice, it said it didn’t work the first time, so i decided to take the opportunity to make my comment more insightful before posting again.

  8. There’s nothing wrong with stealing college spots from other people at your school who want to go more than you. As long as you don’t like them.The ensuing exchange is priceless:
    You: So, did you get into College X?
    Rabid college X aspirant: No. I think I’m going to go kill myself now, because that was the only place I wanted to go for my whole life. I’ve been dreaming about it since I was four.
    You: Oh, that sucks. It’s funny, because I got in. But there’s no way in hell I’m going.

    I had the same dilemma as you (minus the generations of legacy or the Medill issue) and I didn’t apply. I’d like to say that it was because I was so opposed to the idea of NU that I was taking a moral stance by boycotting, but really, their application is just too annoying and long, and I was lazy.

    I don’t really regret that now, but do you really want to turn out like me?

    –Rita

  9. There’s nothing wrong with stealing college spots from other people at your school who want to go more than you. As long as you don’t like them.The ensuing exchange is priceless:
    You: So, did you get into College X?
    Rabid college X aspirant: No. I think I’m going to go kill myself now, because that was the only place I wanted to go for my whole life. I’ve been dreaming about it since I was four.
    You: Oh, that sucks. It’s funny, because I got in. But there’s no way in hell I’m going.

    I had the same dilemma as you (minus the generations of legacy or the Medill issue) and I didn’t apply. I’d like to say that it was because I was so opposed to the idea of NU that I was taking a moral stance by boycotting, but really, their application is just too annoying and long, and I was lazy.

    I don’t really regret that now, but do you really want to turn out like me?

    –Rita

  10. you lazy-ass biyotch. NU is so much fun, and i’d hate to see you pass up this life-changing experience simply because of personal feelings. emotions are SO overrated. and, honestly, so what if the app is long? it’s worth it to avoid wasting your life at a not-ranked-eleventh-in-the-nation school like emory.

What do you think?

