An ending…

Saddest day ever.

This past weekend was Kinnus, CHUSY’s spring convention where we hold installations for next year’s board. Today, the six of us board members were uninstalled from our duties. And apparently, my tear ducts are working properly.

CHUSY–and all of USY–has been my home for the last seven years. Programs, conventions, meetings, lounge nights, get-togethers, meetings, summer trips, meetings–I have lived and breathed United Synagogue Youth since I can remember. This year, serving on the regional board was especially rewarding.

It’s sort of hard for me to put my feelings into words about today, about the past year, about the past four years, or about the past seven (the first three were in Kadima).

This weekend, I felt like I was ready to leave. I felt a lot older than the rest of the people there, I felt so familiar with everything, I felt like I owned the place. I guess I’m beginning to feel like that at school too. It’s sad to leave, but I think I’m really ready for the next step (wherever that may take me).

Maybe I’ll post more coherent thoughts in a few days when I’ve been able to think more.

Thank you to all of my USY friends for being part of the best thing that’s happened to me. I don’t know where I’d be without you and the organization. You’ve taught me so much.

Senior women…all I can say is…you gotta pump it up.

I’ll miss this little youth group.

2 thoughts on “An ending…

  1. I wish I could have gone…I really do. I’m so sad that I missed it. It was my last chance for USY and it’s over. *tear* 😦

  2. Honestly, that made me tear a bit. Lia, you’re so awesome and wonderful, and you’ve definitely made my USY experience better by being YOU. And being Mary Magdelene may have also had something to do with it :-P…
    But seriously, I love you tons.
    –Jamie

What do you think?

