Winter Quarter ’06

Here are my classes for winter quarter, and some thoughts on how they’ve been so far:

Freshman Seminar: Explorations of Misperception
Tuesday/Thursday, 4:00-5:20 p.m.
A class of 15 kids, four of whom I have previously been in classes with (either at Northwestern, Niles West, or even Niles North). It’s an inter-disciplinary class in history and neuroscience, taught by two teachers. We’ll be talking about “misperceptions” in tourism of cities (the history component), and the “misperceptions” our brain experiences when it senses an object. It sounds really interesting.

Hebrew II
Monday/Wednesday/Friday, 11:00-11:50 a.m.
A continuation of the class I took last quarter. (Though we lost one student, so there’s only four of us.) I like Hebrew.

Editing and Writing the News: Lecture
Tuesday, 9:00-11:00 a.m.
The journalism class. Let me tell you, 9:00 a.m. is WAY too early to have a TWO-HOUR lecture. But it seems sort of interesting. There are maybe 120 students in the class–by far my biggest class this quarter. About 15-20 of those are my friends from my dorm, so it’s fun. We have to take current events quizzes (which is sort of good, because otherwise I probably wouldn’t read the newspaper), spelling tests (I haven’t done that since fifth grade…), grammar tests (I love grammar!), and other fun things.

Editing and Writing the News: Lab
Wednesday, 6:30-9:30 p.m.
The lab component of the journalism class. (Three hours long, in case you didn’t note the time.) There are 15 kids in the class, eight of whom are not in Medill (the journalism school), so I don’t feel like an outcast in the class. Normally, we’ll get a story assignment at the beginning of class, and then have three hours to interview people, gather information, and write a good story. I felt really good in the class tonight. It’s been a while since I’ve been in a formal journalism environment, and it felt right to be there. So we’ll see how this class goes, though I still don’t see myself necessarily transferring into Medill.

Modern Hebrew Literature in Translation
Monday/Wednesday/Friday, 9:00-9:50 a.m.
Ahh! Another 9:00 a.m. class! What am I doing to myself? This class has…get this…FOUR students. Four. The teacher is British and new to Nohhthwestahn. I really don’t know what to expect from this class. I just hope that it counts as an English distro (the comparative literature department hasn’t decided yet if it counts or not). The best part about today, though, was that we learned about the history of modern Hebrew literature, starting in Europe, and all that stuff. Then, two hours later, I went to Hebrew language class, and we learned the SAME THING, but in Hebrew! Weeeeird.

All of these classes are really close to my dorm, which is really exciting, especially for the winter. I have to deal with four 9:00 a.m. classes, but on Thursdays I don’t start until 4:00 p.m., and on Fridays I’m done at noon, so it’s not a bad schedule.

We’ll see how it goes!

2 thoughts on “Winter Quarter ’06

  1. Great blog, I wish I had my own web site…
    D219\CRC 4eva,
    Nomaan

    P.S. That’s definitely the first time I’ve ever written “4eva.”

  2. Aww Nomaan, you’re the coolest!

    You can get your own Web site…it’s easy…we’ll talk.

    And I’m super excited for you…you know…we’ll talk about that later too.

What do you think?

