Thoughts on the year.

How do you measure a year?

In quarters, in professors, in late-night chats? In meetings, in roommates, in a capella concerts, in Facebook messages?

I can’t believe I already finished my freshman year of college. I mean, I began to believe it when all my friends from other schools finished in early May, and I was still studying until June 9.

Did the year go by quickly? Did it take a long time?

I don’t think I’m the same person I was when I came to Northwestern last fall. But how have I changed?

This year was really great, but it also had it’s not-so-great moments. I didn’t expect to spend so much time on homework–I figured, hey, it’s college, nobody does work in college! Well, if I felt that way, I shouldn’t have come to NU. There were some times when I was not exactly ecstatic, but it made me happy to know that there are people out there who care a lot about me. Yeah, you know who you are.

To respond to the mocking i’ve received from you non-NUers all year:

1) Yes, I go to school really close to where i live. No, I don’t go home very often. Yes, it’s nice that I know the city and the L and I can show everyone around. But yes, it would be cool to learn a new city and get out of my comfort zone. But hey, that’s what studying abroad is for!

2) We’re on the quarter system. That means we take three sets of classes instead of just two semesters. We didn’t get out of school until June 9. Yeah, it was annoying. But when you’re back at school in mid-August and I still have summer break for another month, guess who will be laughing at whom?

3) Going to school with a sibling is mostly okay, as long as they live on the opposite end of campus and lend you a car occasionally.

I’m still trying to find my place at school. There is definitely a niche for me somewhere, I’m just still looking for it.

I’ve met lots of really great people and I’ve had a lot of fun. Thanks to all my friends at NU for being awesome, and thanks to my non-NU friends for visiting me and keeping in touch.

How do you measure a year?

In love, I guess.

What do you think?

