Don’t judge me by the color of my skin.

A few weeks ago, on Dillo Day (Northwestern’s day of parties and concerts, including Ben Folds), I wore a high-cut, cap-sleeved t-shirt. It was a very sunny day, and I tanned around the awkward t-shirt.

Realizing the unusual tan, I tried to “even it out” by studying outside wearing a tank top a few times. For some reason, one side of me must have been facing the sun more, so I got much tanner on one side than the other, and I had clearly defined strap tans.

I’ve also been wearing t-shirts more often than tank tops, so I have a lovely farmer’s tan.

So, basically, I have the funniest-looking tan ever right now.

Wait. No. It’s not the funniest tan I’ve ever had.

At camp four years ago, we had a Maccabiah / Color Wars day. I was on the white team, and I wore a white tank top and white shorts. We got body paint, and painted fun things on ourselves.

One of my friends decided to paint a white Jewish star on my chest. After being in the sun all day and then taking a shower, here was the result.

I was the subject of much mockery for the rest of the summer. But now, enough time has lapsed that I can look back on it and laugh. Hahaha. It’s pretty funny.

Any tan that I have today pales in comparison to that Jewish star tan.

4 thoughts on “Don’t judge me by the color of my skin.

  1. Warning! Offensive joke ahead! Don’t read if you are easily offended!

    Why didn’t the Nazis just do THIS to mark the Jews?

What do you think?

