I like that old time rock…

I listen to classic rock.

On my favorite radio station (The Drive, 97.1 FM in Chicago), the announcers always say the music is “timeless.” They say their mission is to keep this music alive. They’ll remind me, the listener, of the feelings I felt when I first heard these songs.

It’s “classic rock,” but it’s not really “classic” for me. I’m only 19.

My general rule of thumb for music is if it was written more recently than 30 years ago, I’ve probably never heard of it.

Why is it that I love this music so much? I’ve liked the Beatles since third grade, and since then, I’ve also come to appreciate the Who, the Guess Who, Chicago, Eric Clapton, Pink Floyd, Blood Sweat & Tears, etc.

Was I born in the wrong decade? If I had lived in the ‘70s I would have been able to listen to my music without being unusual or different.

But then again, I would have had to be a hippie. And while I’ve gone through some phases of long hair in my life, I’m not so sure about the peace signs, the tie dye, or the drugs.

As Bob Seger sang,

“Call me a relic, call me what you will
Say I’m old-fashioned, say I’m over the hill
Today’s music ain’t got the same soul
I like that old time rock ‘n’ roll

Still like old time rock ‘n’ roll
That kind of music just soothes the soul
I reminisce about the days of old
With that old time rock ‘n’ roll.”

One thought on “I like that old time rock…

  1. the only radio stations i ever listen to are 94.7 (oldies) and 97.1. I do listen to some current music, but most of it is not mainstream. you are not alone.

What do you think?

