Thanks, Captain Obvious!

I’ve noticed that people (myself included) tend to state the obvious when they have nothing better to say.

Every day for the past few weeks when I’ve walked out of my house, I’ve said, “Woah, it’s HOT outside!” (When I’m with someone I’ll say it out loud, and when I’m alone, I’ll think it.) Oh, is it hot? I see that it’s 101 degrees, but I didn’t feel anything!

Or, “Oh, it’s raining.” You think?

People also have a tendency to repeat facts that, while they may be true, are not relevant to anything:

“I’m hungry.”
“I’m cold.”
“I’m sleepy.”
“It’s dark outside.”
“It smells like skunk out here.”

Why must we fill the beauty that is silence (I don’t know if I would go as far as calling it “golden”) with unnecessary information? Is it that we long to connect with others around us through conversation, but cannot think of anything intelligent to say? Is it that we have all lost our capacities to think to ourselves, and must utter every thought that pops into our minds?

I’m going to try to be more cognizant of the obviousness of what I say.

But for now, I’m going to get a drink of water. It’s hot outside today, and I’m thirsty.

7 thoughts on “Thanks, Captain Obvious!

  1. I don’t know why we do it, but it is strangely satisfying. Somehow the things better left unsaid create a pressure for someone to say it, because both parties know it’s going to be said eventually. For example, whenever my mom and I watch a movie that has some interesting trivia fact attached to it, one of us will ALWAYS repeat it, even though we’ve probably talked about it a thousand times. It’s just a rush to get it over with so we can get on with watching the damn movie.

  2. Silence is very overrated, and I don’t find it problematic in the least to talk merely to fill silence. However, a lot of people around me seem to find it problematic! Hmmmmmmmmmm, you think they are trying to tell me something? Nah.

    Okay, off I go to ramble loudly and incessantly about nothing in particular!

  3. If human beings don’t keep exercising their lips, he thought, their mouths probably seize up. After a few months’ consideration and observation he abandonded this theory in favor of a new one. If they don’t keep on exercising their lips, he thought, their brains start working.
    -Douglas Adams

    Just thought I would share

    -Beth

  4. In France we have Jean-Marie Bigard, who is one of our greatest humorist. He makes a whole play around this idea.
    Unforunately, my english is too poor to explain it … 😦

    Emmanuel

  5. Little known fact:
    When you say stuf out loud, it makes it go away. When you say your thirsty, you’re not anymore, when you say you’re hot, you cool down. I’m sure there’s a very scientific explanation for it. Or I’m lying out of my ass.
    You decide 😉
    Mitch

What do you think?

