Lia’s Headache Log

The headaches still haven’t gone away.

My doctor recommended I keep a “headache journal,” recording what I did all day on days I get headaches. Maybe, she said, we’ll be able to notice some patterns and determine the cause of my pain.

I thought I’d post my log from a few days ago. Maybe some of you can shed some light on the whole situation.

Lia’s Headache Log
Wednesday, Aug. 16, 2006


7:01 a.m.:
I woke up to hammering noises from the construction workers at the house next door. I heard metal banging and crashing, and men shouting in another language. It was a nice wake up to the night, when I barely slept at all due to the heat and stuffiness in my room. I probably got three hours of sleep.

8:00 a.m.:
My actual alarm went off. I forgot to lower the volume, though, so “MMMbop” on the radio blasted into my room.

8:07 a.m.: I began to put in my contacts. I got the left one in, but I dropped my right contact on the floor. As I bent down to look for it, the phone rang. I slammed my head on the sink as I rose to answer the phone, with one eye seeing and one eye squinting. It was a telemarketer.

8:30 a.m.:
No time for breakfast, and no time to make a lunch—I had to rush out the door. Hey, I ate yesterday, what’s the big deal?

8:35 a.m.: I drove to the local middle school where I help the 6th graders with their band practice. Traffic was heavy, and cars honked all around me. The sun was also painfully bright, and I forgot my sunglasses at home.

9:00 a.m.: I arrived at the school, where I held a sectional with the oboes and cymbals. They were rehearsing for their production of “Stomp.”

10:30 a.m.:
I left the middle school to go to my other job, working at a computer all day in a dusty office. I stared at my computer screen, doing repetitive busywork, and thus was too busy to drink water or eat anything.

11:28 a.m.: The person at the cubicle next to me likes to listen to music while he works. Maybe one day he’ll let me borrow his heavy metal head-banging CDs.

1:57 p.m.: The added company on this “Bring Your Dog to Work Day” made the office a lively place to be.

2:10 p.m.: My boss told me I had to finish my project by the end of the day, which stressed me out. I eventually finished it, but I was frustrated and tense the whole time.

6:00 p.m.:
On the way home, I stopped to visit my 4- and 6-year-old cousins. They seemed to think my head looked like a drum. They were pretty talented, I have to admit.

7:25 p.m.: I got out of the car and walked up to the front door. Wow, these construction workers really should have secured the bricks on top of the roof better—someone could get hurt.

7:26 p.m.: Ouchhhhh.

7:29 p.m.: I walked into the house and just relaxed and watched TV. But of course, the first thing I see is that clever Head On commercial, you know, the one where they repeat “Apply Directly to Forehead”? It’s so nice of them to not only advertise their product, but to explain to the consumers how to use it.

10:15 p.m.: I realized that I hadn’t eaten all day, so it was snack time. I reached for the peanut butter from the top shelf, but I accidentally knocked down the baking powder and tomato sauce. They came crashing down onto my head.

11:30 p.m.: I stayed up late chatting online. I was having important conversations with eight different friends, so I didn’t move from my seat for a few hours. Finally, I went to bed.

So, that was my day! I have NO idea why I’m getting headaches. I guess this will just have to remain a mystery.

EDIT: I guess I didn’t make this outrageous enough. This isn’t true. I was trying to illustrate all the possible headache-causing agents one can run into in a day. But this did not actually happen. It’s fictional…but hopefully you found it humorous anyway.

5 thoughts on “Lia’s Headache Log

  1. Oh, Lia, this would be funny if it wasn’t causing you pain. Is this a typical day for you? If so, it’s no wonder you have chronic headaches! I have some layman’s recommendations:

    1. Get more sleep. If I get less than 8 hours, I have a pounding headache all day until I catch up. It’s a curse, I tells ya.
    2. Drink water and eat meals.
    3. Do the 20/20/20 ruls when you’re on the computer. Every twenty minutes, look up and focus on something twenty feet away for twenty seconds. It’ll help with the eye strain.

    If you’ve tried all these things, I’m sorry for rubbing in their failure. Feel better!

  2. There should be a zero tolerance policy against people who don’t secure bricks. Something to teach them not to mess with innocent bystanders. I’m thinking maybe we tie bricks to their arms? Legs? I can think of one or two other places, but that might only be for the worst offenders…
    Mitch

What do you think?

