Hair product or weapon?

I own something that resembles a medieval torture device.

Does it shoot bullets of fire? Does it drill deep holes into a person’s skin? Is it an old-school megaphone?

Nope. It’s just a hairdryer.

I’ve been getting lots of confused looks from my suitemates whenever I use this “diffuser,” as this special hairdryer is known. “What is that?” “It looks like a weapon.” “Is that for your hair?”

I figured I’d take this opportunity to explain to the world what it is and why I use it. Girls, this information can be useful if you have curly or wavy hair. Boys, this can be useful if you don’t understand girls.

This hair diffuser has little prongs on the end, out of which hot air blows. You’re supposed to put gel in your hair and “scrunch” your hair to create curls or waves, and then use the diffuser to dry the hair without creating frizz, allowing the curls to keep their shape.

Here, I’ll just show you.

a) Comb your wet hair straight.
b) Add gels to your hair (I like to use a combination of gels, mousses and sprays); scrunch
c) Plug the diffuser into the outlet, turn on low heat. Bunch your hair into a scrunchy pile (I don’t know how else to describe it) inside the diffuser. Use the diffuser like a regular hairdryer, but, unlike most hairdryers, the diffuser will actually touch your hair and your head. Don’t worry, it won’t hurt you!
d) Your hair is now wavy/curly, depending on your natural hair. Mine is naturally wavy.
e) Style as you want—I chose a white headband to keep the hair out of my face.
f) Marvel at the diffuser, praising the beauty-product gods who invented it.

So, don’t be afraid next time you see me using this. Diffusers (and girls with curly hair) are your friends!

Just don’t get it confused with a toy.


(Photo from http://voodooz.no-ip.org:8000/robotics/ONYX/img/airtech3k.jpg)

2 thoughts on “Hair product or weapon?

What do you think?

