A convenience store with everything you need in case of emergency

I passed by this convenience store today in the Loop area of downtown Chicago:

I couldn’t help but be grateful that this store was advertised as offering everything I could possibly need on short notice. They’ve got coffee to make sure I’m awake, donuts to keep me fed, watch batteries to keep me on time and fax/copy/phone cards to keep me connected.

And if I’m ever in need of an emergency Beanie Baby, I know where to go.

Then again, if I find myself in need of an emergency Beanie Baby, it’s probably because I accidentally time-traveled back to 1994. In that case, I think I’d need a lot more than a donut.

5 thoughts on “A convenience store with everything you need in case of emergency

  1. I like this.

    But there is one thing I must say: the last sentence makes it seem like accidentally time-traveling back to ’94 is a bad thing. You’d need a lot more than a donut? Like what? Money to invest in the dot-com not-yet-bubble or to bet against Nancy Kerrigan? (Actually that one’s just sad.)

    Let’s be honest: 1994 was an awesome year! It represents the second-to-last time the Cowboys won the Super Bowl (always good), Apartheid ended in South Africa, Illinois executed John Wayne Gacy, the Houston Rockets won their first of back-to-back championships, Israel and Jordan signed the peace treaty that lasts to this day, the Chunnel was opened, etc.

    Pretty much the only thing that sucked was the beginning of the MLB strike.

    So I’d have to say that if I accidentally time-traveled back to 1994, a donut would pretty much be all I’d need. And maybe a comfortable chair to watch the OJ proceedings.

    Ah 1994. What a good time. A time when Y2K was not yet feared, a time before the current economic climate, and more importantly, a time in which I was too young to really understand all the bad things going on.

    -Nathan

What do you think?

