Audio books: How they’ve changed my life

In the past two months, I have traveled from Afghanistan to Kentucky to Ohio, then back to Afghanistan and ended up in France. All while staying in my Honda Accord.

I have discovered audio books, and my life is forever changed.

I used to dread car rides – my commutes from Lincolnwood to Highland Park can get pretty lengthy and monotonous. I enjoy listening to the radio, but as a fan of ‘60s and ‘70s rock, it’s been a few decades since I’ve heard a new great hit released. Listening to the news is okay, but I much prefer online journalism. And talking on the phone using my hands-free device is great, but often my friends aren’t awake or available to talk when I’m driving.

But now – I love driving. I count down the hours until I hear my car doors unlocking, my seatbelt clicking, and the man on the CD saying “This book is continued on Disc Four.”

So far, thanks to the Lincolnwood and Skokie libraries, I’ve enjoyed listening to A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards, The Last Time I Saw You by Elizabeth Berg, and The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Currently, I’m listening to The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

I’ve managed to take other wasted time throughout the day and turn it into productive reading (well, listening) time. Folding my laundry and sorting my socks? It was once a dreaded chore (okay, who am I kidding, it’s still a pretty dreaded chore); but now, I get to “read,” using the audio books I’ve put on my computer. Running on the elliptical? I used to have a difficult time motivating myself to go to the gym (okay, who am I kidding, I still have a difficult time motivating myself to go); but now, I must go to the gym so I can keep listening to my favorite characters’ adventures.

The only downside – this whole endeavor might end up costing me some extra gas money. I sometimes find myself going out of the way to drive somewhere, or sitting in the driveway waiting for a chapter to end. A small price to pay for maintaining my sanity.

Alright, I’m off. I think we’re out of milk, and I need to find out who murdered Jacques Saunière.

3 thoughts on “Audio books: How they’ve changed my life

  1. Hahah, I love audio books, too! When I was working for reading town, I had to read a classic book a week to keep up with the students, but then I got the audio, and same thing.. I loved listening while doing laundry! : ) and good book choices btw. I read the two by Hosseini, and The Da Vinci Code. They’re pretty intense…

  2. Oh you’re such a good writer. And you know I’m totally on board with audio books! Just checked one out from the libes myself. I have a solution to your gas problem–turn off the engine but leave the accessories on! That’s what I do. 🙂 See you in 43 hours!

    Your blog posts are just the right length these days!

    • lia don’t do what benj suggests! that’s going to drain yo batt’ry. when your engine is running, for instance because you are sitting in the drive way heavily enraptured by the sound of christopher lee’s radio voice, the battery is being augmented/charged. when your engine is off, your battery is just bleeding juice into ether.

What do you think?

