A wallet stuffed with memories

Lately, I’ve been getting comments from my friends about the size of my wallet. And last week, when my wallet’s clasp broke, I decided that maybe I should take my friends’ advice and thin out my wallet.

It’s not that my wallet is bursting with cash – to the contrary, actually. I’ve got some coins in there, but those don’t add much to the weight. What my wallet does have, though, are lots of memories.

The "before" picture - my thick wallet filled with "memories"

As I clean out my wallet in preparation for buying a new one (I have a personal policy that I don’t spend more on a wallet than I currently have in it), here are some of the things I found that I will (sadly) get rid of:

  • An old, washed out receipt from Dunkin Donuts for a strawberry banana smoothie from October 2008.
  • A gift certificate to Homer’s Ice Cream printed on a red slip of paper – I think I won this at a bar mitzvah in middle school.
  • My CTA U-Pass from my sophomore year of college when my journalism class met in Uptown. Best quarter of my life – there’s something to be said for taking the L from Foster to Davis for free to avoid walking a few blocks in the freezing cold. Also, I’ll get rid of my expired Chicago Card.
  • My contacts prescription from January 2004 – never know when I might need an emergency pair of glasses, but I should probably get checked soon for a new prescription.
  • Voter Identification Card – Niles Township, Precinct 7, 9th congressional district, etc. – interesting information, but I’ve never been asked to show this card to vote. (I won’t throw this away, it just doesn’t need to be in my wallet.)
  • ID card from senior year of high school – in case I get stopped in the hallway during passing period, I guess.
  • Discount card from Froots, a smoothie store in Evanston that no longer exists.
  • A Visa gift card with a remaining balance of $0.00. Could be useful…or not.
Check out all the things that used to be taking up space in my wallet!

Now, time for a new wallet to fill to the brink with new memories!

(And for the meantime, my old wallet with fewer “memories” is much thiner!)

Wow! Have you been working out?
4 thoughts on “A wallet stuffed with memories

  1. According to http://www.chicago-card.com/cc/conditions.aspx

    If, however, you have a balance remaining on your Chicago Card at the time it expires, you can recover the remaining balance by:

    · Visiting the CTA Sales Center located at 567 W. Lake Street, 2nd floor, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. If you have already received a new Chicago Card, please present your expired Chicago Card along with the new card and your balance will be transferred. If you have not received a new Chicago Card, you will be given a new Chicago Card with your remaining balance. Please bring a photo I.D. with you for this transaction.

    · Calling 1-888-YOUR-CTA (1-888-968-7282) (TTY: 1-888-CTA-TTY1), Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. If you have not already received a new Chicago Card, a Chicago Card with your remaining balance on it will be mailed to you within 5-7 business days. If you have already received a replacement zero-value Chicago Card, and do not wish to visit the CTA Sales Center to transfer the balance remaining on your expired Chicago Card, a Transit Card with the appropriate adjusted value from your expired Chicago Card will be mailed to you within 5 – 7 business days.

What do you think?

