Happy 300th post, blog!

Today marks a wonderful celebration – my 300th blog post!

Since August 2004, I’ve used this space to rave and rant, celebrate and chastise, and maybe even crack a joke or two.

To celebrate this momentous post, I wanted to share a few of my favorite blog entries from years past. Click on the links to read the rest of the posts.

Lia’s Top Four Favorite Blog Posts

4. To Northwestern or not to Northwestern? College senior Lia speaks to high school senior Lia. (June 18, 2009)

It was the fall of my senior year of high school. At 18 years old, I was selecting a college, and, according to my old blog entries, I seemed to have a pretty clear last choice.

On November 28, 2004, I wrote an entry called “To Northwestern or not to Northwestern” – a pro and con list about NU.

Now, as a graduating senior at NU, I look back on my decision to apply.

Read more…

3. Shoo fly, don’t both-…oh, screw it, I’ll just kill you (July 14, 2005)

Recently, I have noticed a rather large amount of flies flying around buildings, houses, kitchens, Lia’s bedroom, the office–pretty much everywhere except where they’re supposed to be, which is outside.

My dad showed me a rather interesting way to kill a fly, that has a “97.5% success rate.” Though it may disturb the more squeemish of us, I think that some of you will find it helpful.

Read more…

2. A Night at the Airport (February 28, 2007)

You haven’t lived until you’ve slept in an airport.

Airports are usually home to strangers in a hurry, who cut each other in line and deal harshly with employees. Air travelers look disheveled and anxious, interacting with no one.

This past Saturday night at the Indianapolis International Airport, the dark hours of the night shed a new light on airport creatures.

Read more…

1. An open letter to my cold (November 10, 2005)

I’d like to take this opportunity to wish a happy two-week anniversary (yeah, I know anniversary means a year, sue me) to my cold. I can’t believe we’ve been together for that long! I dedicate this entry to you, my cold.

Cold, it’s been such a pleasure getting to know you for the last two weeks. You know my weak spots more than my best friends, and you attach yourself to me more than any boyfriend ever has.

Together, we’ve gone through four boxes of Kleenex, and you’ve even convinced me to heartlessly steal some of my roommate’s tissues as well. We’ve cleaned out 100% of my Tylenol Cold Nighttime pills, and 66% of my Tylenol Cold Daytime pills.

Read more…

Thanks for reading, everyone! Here’s to 300 more posts. And if you don’t have your own blog, well – why don’t you? (I’m looking at you, Dad.)

What do you think?

