Google Voice and your voice

I’ll admit it – I love all things Google. Aside from Gmail and Google Docs, my favorite Google product is Google Voice. Google Voice takes over my cell phone’s voicemail, and it works wonders. When you leave a message on my phone, Google Voice texts and e-mails me a transcription of the message and e-mails me the audio file.

I love this feature because:

1)    It is incredibly convenient to read a text/e-mail of a voicemail rather than listening to it
2)    I often don’t get reception to listen to a voicemail, but texts come through even in bad reception
3)    The transcriptions are hilarious.

I’ll focus on #3. Google Voice isn’t quite human, so the transcripts are far from accurate. They are good enough to know whether someone is calling about something urgent or just calling to chat, but the messages never fail to make me laugh:

Google Voice thinks you said: “Eric, Wallace.”
You really said: “Hey Lia, it’s Alyssa.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “I leave yet but Japan for porch night on Friday. It’s about your plan.”
You really said: “Hi Lia, it’s Benjamin, about 4:49 on Friday, Shabbat Shalom.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “Hey, it’s me. I’m in the car at the art export pick that up, give me a call with country when you get a chance.”
You really said: “Hey Lia, it’s me, I’m in the car, I’ll be in the car for the next 45 minutes, give me a call whenever you get a chance.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “Hey honey it’s back just calling to wish you happy birthday.”
You really said: “Hey Lia, it’s Beth, just calling to wish you a happy birthday.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “I’m sure your 18 hours from fun and fun.”
You really said: “I’m sure you’re working at some fun event.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “Hey Lia. It’s retail.”
You really said: “Hey Lia, it’s Rachel.”

Google Voice thinks you said: “Maybe we can arrange something for massacres for me a call hi.”
You really said: “Maybe we can arrange something for next week or so. Give me a call. Bye.”

I definitely appreciate Google Voice and it makes my life infinitely better, but next time you hear me speaking in Gibberish, you’ll know that I’ve just been “reading” a lot of voicemails.

4 thoughts on “Google Voice and your voice

  1. Google Voice: Hello case you and I would textures trying to reach you. I think I need to cards taking tomorrow okay. You don’t have to call me back. You can call her back if you want to pick up, I was just come home and he said. Okay, bye bye.

    My mom: OK. Shira and I were…Shira’s trying to reach you. Uh…she got a car to take you tomorrow. OK. You don’t have to call me back. You can call her back if you want to…I think…or just come home, she said. Okay; bye bye.

    Reality: I did call Shira back before coming home (my mom’s). (I even guessed the text from “(te)xtures trying to reach you” meant “Shira’s trying to reach you.”) The car didn’t pick us up. We got a yellow cab on Queens Blvd to take us to LGA. We received no cards, other than our baggage claim receipt. It was okay. Bye bye.

  2. Lia, you shouldn’t be so presumptuous. Didn’t I tell you I was going to Japan for New Year’s? And I kept waiting for that man with the briefcase like you told me, but he never arrived. Oh well, let’s get some massacres in the next 18 hours. Fun and fun!

  3. One of my co-workers apparently mistakenly called me today, via “pocket dialing.” There’s mostly ambient noise in the background, no real words. Here’s what GV did with it:

    “Hello. Yeah, thanks. Hello Hello HI. It’s thing ohh hi cleaning up. Well, you know. Hey, hey, hey, hey. Ohh. Hey, how far any playing, hey the info. Okay thanks okay. Hello Hello. Hello. Bye. Hello. Hello hello, hey. Hello yeah 26. Hello. Bye.”

    I bet the Beatles could have done something with that concept, by shortening it to something like “You say hello and I say goodbye.”

  4. Since you told me about Google Voice – I did end up getting it myself.
    It is one of the most Funniest things ever when I get a Voicemail. I love reading my messages to figure out what it is telling me ha ha ha ha. It’s the best part about getting a voicemail

What do you think?

