Real Life vs. Gmail Life

I’m on Gmail so often that sometimes I forget whether I’m on my e-mail or if I’m just interacting in “real life.” And as great as real life is, there are definitely times in my offline world that I wish I had the Gmail features at my disposal.

“Real Life”

Gmail Life

The other day, while sitting in a restaurant, a friend mentioned something that I had said a few weeks ago. I had no recollection of what I had supposedly said. She assured me that I said it, but I didn’t believe her. I tried searching through our past conversations, but my memory isn’t what it used to be. In Gmail, I would have quickly searched our chat history.
Often, when I’m talking to people I don’t interact with frequently, I find it difficult to recall our previous conversations. Wouldn’t my life be easier if our conversations were grouped, like in Gmail, and I could quickly see our last several interactions all in one place?
Gmail says that I am currently using 3753 MB (49 percent) of my 7576 MB. My brain certainly does not have that much memory, and thus I must often “delete” pieces of information (names, things I said, jokes I’ve already told) from my brain, making it impossible to search for them later. Gmail encourages its users not to delete anything, and therefore everything is later searchable. My brain – not so much. While my brain loses memory each day, Gmail claims to be gaining more and more space each day.

Done reading this blog post? Just label it, archive it, and you can quickly search for it later.

2 thoughts on “Real Life vs. Gmail Life

  1. The human brain has, by conservative estimates, about 4.5TB of space, or about 620 times as much space as Gmail gives you.

    However, this estimate assumes each neuron is a single bit, which is unrealistic – the brain uses a much better ‘storage algorithm’ or ‘file system’ than computers today do. Neurons are connected by about 1 quadrillion synapses, and taking that into consideration, we’d be looking at closer to 1 Petabyte (1024 TB).

    That’s assuming the brain can’t store more than one thing in a neuron, using some form of molecular storage, at which point the number balloons to around 36 Exabytes from what I’ve read. (1024 PB)

    In any case, the issue is that your sort and search algorithm isn’t good enough. It’s okay, neither is Google’s. (There’s no such thing as a “good” sort/search algorithm, yet, all we have now are a few “good enough” sort/search algorithms.) You should consider a better one.

  2. I was about to write the same thing as Nathan. But yeah, I’ve totally thought I had conversations over Gchat, only later to be disappointed that it was in real life or on the phone. How weird to be disappointed by having experienced real-life interaction…

    Nice table!

What do you think?

