Thanks, doormen!

My apartment building announced this week that beginning immediately, we are now under new management. Instead of being owned by a small, friendly company, I think we are officially going to be owned by The Man.

I’m sure the new company will make nice improvements. The same company owns my brother’s building, so I have learned that this company standardizes the fragrant smell in each of its properties’ lobbies and furnishes the lobby with a coffee maker and coffee dispenser. Not too shabby, I guess.

But this management company realizes that in these tough economic times, we cannot afford to have a 24-hour doorman – so instead, we’ll resort to a “state-of-the-art intercom system.”

People in my building do not seem happy, as we can see on this note left in the elevator Monday night:

An angry note in the elevator.

It will be very sad to lose our doormen, as they are all wonderful people. Because I don’t know how to get in touch with them otherwise, I guess I’ll thank them here, hoping they somehow get my thanks.

Dear Khan, Vasil, Patrick, and Dan,

Thank you for being a smiling, welcoming face at the front door, whether it was 7 a.m. or 6 p.m. or 4 a.m. (don’t worry, Mom, I never got home at 4 a.m….I’m just assuming that the doormen would be nice at that hour…). You opened the door for us, held the elevator open while we struggled with groceries, and safely guarded our spare keys. You allowed us to receive packages at any hour of the day or night, and you mailed our outgoing letters. You recognized our close friends and frequent visitors, and politely called us to tell us when they arrived. After I hosted one Shabbat service on a Friday night, you consistently asked me what my Shabbat plans were on each of the following subsequent Friday nights. You made us feel welcomed, recognized, cared for, and safe.

Without you, our apartment management company will be able to afford the lobby coffee maker, TV, furniture, and standardized scent I have come to know from my brother’s apartment. They will be able to afford this cell phone-activated intercom system. We’ll probably gain style and decor, but we’ll lose the personal touch of a human at the door.

Doormen – thanks for being part of the reason I’ve loved my apartment for the past six months. I wish you luck in the future.

Now, I have to run – I need to find a new place to keep our spare key.

One thought on “Thanks, doormen!

What do you think?

