Important life skills: Knowing the difference between a catalytic converter and a rotator cuff

For the past few months, my car has been making a weird rattling noise when the acceleration reaches exactly 2,000 RPM. It wasn’t a life-threatening noise, but it was definitely there. But when my brakes started making screeching metal noises, my dad and I agreed that it was time for the car to be taken in.

I let my dad take the car in so that the mechanic wouldn’t take advantage of the fact that I’m not exactly an expert on cars. When my dad and I switched cars, he told me that the rattling at 2,000 RPM was due to a problem with the catalytic converter.

But for some reason, when he told me about the problem that was fixed, my brain didn’t hear “catalytic converter.” My brain heard “rotator cuff.”

When I later asked my dad to explain the problem with the car’s rotator cuff, he seemed pretty confused. Here’s what I learned from this whole situation.

Catalytic converter and rotator cuff
An important distinction in life.

It made me think: Are there other car parts that might be confused for body parts and vice versa?

Car parts that sound like body parts:

  • Front fascia: “I tore my front fascia last month while skiing!”
  • Quarter panel: “Wow, have you been working out? Your quarter panels look so toned!”
  • Odometer: “My doctor told me I might need to get my odometer removed if I keep eating sugar.”
  • Rotational sensor: “Every time I turn my head, I get a sharp pain in my rotational sensor.”
  • Combination valve: “My combination valve has gotten worse over the years, which has led to some irregular heartbeats.”
  • Muffler: “The kidney stone was near his muffler area.”
  • Intake manifold gasket: “She has to use the bathroom quite often because she has a small intake manifold gasket.”
  • Shock absorber: “I’ve stopped running because my feet have poor shock absorbers.”
Body parts that sound like car parts:
  • Thorax: “We need to tighten the thorax belt.”
  • Cerebral cortex: “After the accident, we had to spend $2,000 to fix the Toyota’s cerebral cortex.”
  • Pituitary gland: “Every time I drive over a hill, I hear a ringing in the car’s left-side pituitary gland.”
  • Clavicle: “We used a silver clavicle instead of a copper clavicle in your vehicle.”
  • Distal phalanges: “The mechanic had to remove one of the Honda’s distal phalanges, but the car seems to be running better now.”
  • Bowman’s capsule: “If your Bowman’s capsule breaks, you might as well just give up and buy a new car.”
  • Fallopian tube: “The windshield wiper fluid was being blocked by a small stone lodged in the car’s Fallopian tube.”
  • Cartilage: “You need more cartilage on your left- and right-side mirrors to prevent erosion from rain.”

I hope that all of you dear readers will be extremely careful when deciding where to go for the right remedy. Next time you visit your local body shop, just remember which body you’re fixing.

What do you think?

