Happy anniversary to my apartment!

Happy 2012! In addition to marking the new year (and possibly another apocalypse? why else was the Jewel so crowded on December 31? is the world ending?), January 1 marked my first anniversary living in my Lakeview apartment.

Over the past year, I’ve had lots of highlights — and, honestly, I can’t think of anything negative that has happened here or anything I don’t like about this apartment. Each day I walk out of my apartment with my hands in the sky, breathing in the East Lakeview air, thinking, “Wow! I can’t believe I live here!”

In honor of this momentous occasion, here are some of my favorite things about my apartment:

1) My amazing roommate, Cheryl. It doesn’t get much better than having a roommate who will occasionally call me to say, “Hey Lia, I’m making chicken and rice for dinner and was wondering if you wanted some. I know you have a late meeting tonight at work, so I can have it ready for you whenever you come home.” She’s the best spouse — er, roommate — anyone could ask for.

2) Our Chicago-themed living room. When Cheryl and I moved in, I told her that it was my dream to one day have a Chicago-themed living room. In her usual agreeable nature, she said, “Alright, let’s do it!” Our living room consists of pictures of the Chicago skyline, an artsy representation of the skyline made up of a collage of Chicago words, pictures of Chicago hotspots at night, records from the band Chicago, and even some Chicago-themed children’s books. I feel like I’m living in my own fantasy world.

3) Location, location, location. There are two diners within skipping distance of my apartment, as well as a CVS next door, and a street buzzing with restaurants of all sorts of cuisines (some of which I even like!). There’s an old-fashioned ice cream shop, multiple non-Starbucks coffee shops, an indie record store, an indie book store, and more places to get your hair cut than any normal human being could possibly need. Again, a fantasy world.

4) The little window in my little kitchen overlooking my little dining room. It’s just so cute.

Kitchen window

5) Ghosts in the bathroom. I’m pretty sure our bathroom occasionally gets visited by spirits. Not the scary kind. The friendly, gossipy kind who like to sing in the shower. The first few times I mentioned this to Cheryl, she thought I was crazy; but now even she will admit that at certain times of day, we hear these voices singing, talking, and laughing. Our bathroom walls do not touch our neighbors’ apartments. I can only assume that these are real, living ghosts.

If you haven’t come by to visit us yet, please do! I’m sure there will be some chicken and rice waiting for you, too.

2 thoughts on “Happy anniversary to my apartment!

    • any chance you would post some pics of your chicago themed living room? I am in desperate need of some inspiration

What do you think?

