My stressful hobby: reading

The Other Boleyn Girl
Even looking at this book raises my blood pressure.

It’s hard for me to write this because of how stressed out I am.

Things at work are fine, I’m enjoying my grad school program, and my apartment is relatively clean. But yet, I’m stressed. And it’s Anne Boleyn’s fault.

I’m in the middle of listening to “The Other Boleyn Girl” on audio book and I’m really enjoying it. But Anne Boleyn is just so mean to Mary, the narrator, and I can’t handle it. Sometimes it makes me so angry that I find myself stressing out and calling people who have read the book, complaining about how mean Queen Anne is. (Rumor has it that Anne gets her fair share in the end, but I’m not there yet.)

Reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and the fact that I can do it while driving, thanks to my beloved audio books, is incredible. I love that reading takes me to another world where I can be in 16th-century England, or on a circus, or even inside the head of the family dog. I feel like I’m right there with the narrator, feeling his or her joys and his or her pains. But sometimes it’s just stressful enough that I feel like I need a peaceful massage.

Maybe for my next book I’ll pick something where there’s no conflict, and only good things happen. Anyone know of any such books?

3 thoughts on “My stressful hobby: reading

What do you think?

