Texts from my dentist

If there’s one thing I can be sure of in my life, it’s that I have a dentist appointment tomorrow at 5:30 p.m.

I know because I scheduled the appointment six months ago and put it right into my Google calendar. Then the dentist’s office e-mailed me a reminder on March 7 and I pressed “confirm” to acknowledge that we’re still on for our teeth-cleaning date. Then the dentist’s office e-mailed me again on March 18 to remind me again — and again, I “confirmed” the special event.

And then yesterday, they texted me, asking me to press “1” to confirm. 1 1 1 1 1 1 – I AM CONFIRMED!

Who do they think they’re dealing with here? The appointment is on my calendar, and as long as Google doesn’t self-destruct, it will still be there. I think the dentist’s office should be able to separate its patients into categories of a) usually keep appointments or b) need a gentle nudge to remember to come.

But it made me think: I don’t need e-mail reminders combined with text reminders for my appointment; but it probably wouldn’t hurt if they texted me once every few weeks to remind me to keep flossing. Or maybe once every three months to remind me to get a new toothbrush. Or once a day to remind me to maybe eat a little less chocolate.

I’ll suggest this to my dentist tomorrow — though maybe not while his sharp tools are in my mouth. If you have a suggestion, text it to the dentist and ask him to press 1.

One thought on “Texts from my dentist

  1. That is a great idea! But I guess who needs the dentists? Should I create an “oral hygiene” Google Calendar and set it to notify me via text, email, and pop-up that I need to floss?

What do you think?

