The ONLY problem with Grease

greaseYou should have seen me Sunday night. I was eating pizza and ice cream with seven of my favorite people, watching the live TV broadcast of one of my favorite musicals: “Grease.”

I had a blast, hopelessly devoted to this musical. Grease and I go together, clearly it’s the musical that I want. Hey, there are worse things I could do.

The movie ended, the cast had fun at a carnival, and ahh, sigh of relief. Isn’t it great when your characters have a happy ending and end up together?

But … wait a second. What just happened here?

Conflict: Sandy and Danny love each other, had a great summer together, but back at school they fulfill different high school roles (the cool guy, the goody-two-shoes girl) that can’t go together. Resolution: Sandy changes her appearance and her personality and all is good in the world again.

Wait, what?

Clearly the moral of the story is that if you change your looks, you’ll get the guy. You weren’t good enough before, but in black leather pants, oh baby you’re perfect.

How should the movie have ended, you ask? Well, didn’t we learn in High School Musical that basketball players and math nerds can have meaningful relationships? Be who you are, even if you’re a skater boy who plays the cello! Is there a world in which greaser Danny and poodle skirt Sandy could have ended up together as they were, sans wardrobe changes or personality makeovers?

Maybe those are the kinds of things that only happen in a malt shop in the sky.

One thought on “The ONLY problem with Grease

  1. Yeah, that kind of compromised relationship could never last. Wonder what they’re doing now? On Wed, Feb 3, 2016 at 9:23 AM bril-lia-nce (by Lia Lehrer Goldfarb) wrote:

    > Lia (Lehrer) Goldfarb posted: “You should have seen me Sunday night. I was > eating pizza and ice cream with seven of my favorite people, watching the > live TV broadcast of one of my favorite musicals: “Grease.” I had a > blast, hopelessly devoted to this musical. Grease and I go togethe” >

What do you think?

