Confusion in the remodeled grocery store

jewelI was totally discombobulated. I felt out of place. Am I going crazy? Am I out of my mind? I felt lost, scared, and confused.

I bet you would have felt the same way if they reorganized and remodeled your grocery store!

I’ll warn you here that I don’t really have a “point” to this post — there will be no poignant lesson or pithy statement that will really make you think. Sorry, not every week can deliver those. But I want to convey an observation on the funny unique feeling when your everyday life gets flipped around.

I guess it had been a while since I had been to our local Jewel-Osco. Or maybe it hadn’t been that long, but the construction workers just worked efficiently. But when I walked into the store last week for a routine “I-messed-up-the-dessert-I-baked-so-I-need-to-buy-a-kosher-parve-dessert-to-bring-to-Shabbat-dinner” run, I felt physically stressed.

Is there a word for this feeling when you feel confused but you know that it’s about something that is truly insignificant in the grand scheme of things? I know there are things in this world that better merit my worrying mind — the upcoming election, world hunger, the Zika virus — but yet, a remodeled grocery store left me feeling like my own personal mundane world was turned upside down.

They say it’s important to go outside your comfort zone. Well, if going into your normal grocery store where you know exactly which aisle carries your exact brand of chocolate chips and then you discover that everything has changed isn’t leaving your comfort zone, I don’t know what is! Or, I was in my comfort zone, my neighborhood supermarket, but they made me uncomfortable by switching around the “yogurt zone” and the “organic zone” and the “kosher zone.”

Here’s hoping that when all of you go to the grocery store, it looks the same as how you’ve come to know and love it. Or, more realistically, here’s hoping that all of us will just eventually get used to the change.

I eventually asked for directions … phew, I almost showed up to my dinner empty-handed!

One thought on “Confusion in the remodeled grocery store

  1. Oh no. I am dreading going back. Maybe I’ll stay put in NYC. On Wed, Feb 17, 2016 at 9:18 AM bril-lia-nce (by Lia Lehrer Goldfarb) wrote:

    > Lia (Lehrer) Goldfarb posted: “I was totally discombobulated. I felt out > of place. Am I going crazy? Am I out of my mind? I felt lost, scared, and > confused. I bet you would have felt the same way if they reorganized and > remodeled your grocery store! I’ll warn you here that I don'” >

What do you think?

